Follow Us:

India to play 3 Test matches instead of 4 in South Africa

India will play South Africa in a 3-match Test series, 6-match ODI series, 3 T20Is.

PTI | New Delhi |

The Indian cricket team will be playing three Test matches along with six One Dayers and three T20 Internationals against South Africa, starting January 5.

“India will play South Africa in a three-match ‘Mahatma Gandhi-Nelson Mandela’ Test series, six-match One-Day International series followed by three Twenty20 Internationals. The dates and venues for the fixtures will be confirmed shortly,” BCCI acting secretary Amitabh Chaudhary stated in a media release.

Originally, India were supposed to play four Test matches but the home series against Sri Lanka series will end in the penultimate week of December.

It effectively means that Virat Kohli and his men won’t be able to play either the ‘Boxing Day’ match on December 26 or the traditional New Year game that starts on January 2.

The Indian team has already asked for a practice period of 10 days which would include atleast one, if not two practice games to gear up for the bouncy conditions.

The tour has also been shortened as India, after the South Africa series, will be travelling to Sri Lanka for the Independents’ Cup T20 tri-nation tournament.