Indian cricket team led by standby skipper Ajinkya Rahane thrashed Afghanistan by an innings and 262 runs in their maiden Test on Friday at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.

Earlier on Thursday, after winning the toss, Ajinkya Rahane won the toss and opted to bat and scored 474 for before getting bowled out by the visitors.

Following the target of 474 runs, Afghanistan were bowled out at the score of 109 runs in their first innings and were enforced a follow-on.

Batting second time on the second day, Mohammad Shahzad and Javed Ahmadi opened Afghan innings but failed to give the team a decent start as both the openers were sent back to the pavilion at the score of 22 in 6 overs.

After the opening duo departed, Rahmat Shah, Mohammad Nabi took charge of visitors inning but were unable to counter Indian bowling as they lost their wickets to Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav in two successive overs.

Hashmatullah Shahidi and with skipper Asghar Stanikzai stabilised Afghan innings and added 37 runs for the fifth wicket. However, Ravindra Jadeja broke their partnership by removing Asghar Stanikzai.

Following Asghar Stanikzai dismissal, Afsar Zazai and Rashid Khan joined Hashmatullah Shahidi at the crease but both of them were removed by Jadeja. After Khan’s dismissal, Afghan team did not fight much and were all out at the score of 103 runs.

From India, Ravindra Jadeja took four wickets, Umesh Yadav bagged three and Ishant Sharma took two.

Fall of wickets:

India: 168-1 (Shikhar Dhawan, 28.4), 280-2 (Murali Vijay, 51.5), 284-3 (Lokesh Rahul, 52.1), 318-4 (Ajinkya Rahane, 66.3), 328-5 (Cheteshwar Pujara, 69.5), 334-6 (Dinesh Karthik, 74.5), 369-7 (Ravichandran Ashwin, 85.5), 436-8 (Ravindra Jadeja, 98.5), 440-9 (Hardik Pandya, 99.2), 474-10 (Ishant Sharma, 104.5)

Afghanistan, 1st innings: 15-1 (Mohammad Shahzad, 4), 21-2 (Javed Ahmadi, 5.2), 35-3 (Rahmat Shah, 8.2), 35-4 (Afsar Zazai, 9.1), 50-5 (Asghar Stanikzai, 12.3), 59-6 (Hashmatullah Shahidi, 16.4), 78-7 (Rashid Khan, 21.3), 87-8 (Yamin Ahmadzai, 24.5), 88-9 (Mohammad Nabi, 26.3), 109-10 (Mujeeb Ur Rahman, 27.5)

Afghanistan 2nd innings: 19-1 (Mohammad Shahzad, 3.6), 22-2 (Javed Ahmadi, 5.1), 22-3 (Mohammad Nabi, 5.5), 24-4 (Rahmat Shah, 6.3), 61-5 (Asghar Stanikzai, 23.4), 62-6 (Afsar Zazai, 25.3), 82-7 (Rashid Khan, 29.2), 85-8 (Yamin Ahmadzai, 32.5), 98-9 (Mujeeb Ur Rahman, 35.6), 103-10 (Wafadar, 38.4)


India: Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Lokesh Rahul, Dinesh Karthik(wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Afghanistan: Mohammad Shahzad, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Stanikzai(c), Afsar Zazai(w), Mohammad Nabi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar.