Devika Vaidya would replace Pooja Vastrakar, India’s most capped T20 pacer in the squad, in the Women-in-Blue squad in the ongoing ICC Women’s World T20 after the latter was ruled out of the tournament due to injury.

Pooja Vastrakar suffered a knee injury during the practice game against the hots West Indies and was not part of India’s first three-match in the Group stage due to injury.


“The ICC event technical committee comprising Geoff Allardice, Chris Tetley, Mel Jones, Ebony Rainford-Brent, Jennifer Nero and Roland Holder permitted a replacement for her,” the International Cricket Council said in a statement.

Devika Vaidya who has played just one T20 International match for India, would join Women-in-Blue in West Indies before the semi-final to be played on November 22.

Meanwhile, Harmanpreet Kaur-led Indian side will face much-fancied Australia in their last group match on Saturday at the Providence Stadium, Guyana.

India Women Squad:Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, Arundhati Reddy, Devika Vaidya