France Football announced the launch of two new awards on Sunday morning. For the first time ever there will be a Ballon d’Or for the women’s game and a U21 award for men called Trophée Kopa (Kopa Trophy).



View this post on Instagram


Next Gen | France Football have announced an U21 Ballon d’Or which will be called Trophée Kopa. The judges will be previous Ballon d’Or award winners (Messi & CR7)👏🏽🙌🏽 #taffamedia

A post shared by Taffa Media (@taffamedia) on

The additional awards, along with the original “best player” award, will be given for the first time on 3 December this year, as per a report published in The Sun.



View this post on Instagram



A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

The Kopa Trophy will be given to the best Under-21 player and it will be voted by a panel of footballing legends including the likes of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Denis Law, Michel Platini, Zinedine Zidane and Marco van Basten.

However, the award for Women’s Ballon d’Or will be voted by a jury of journalists specialising in women’s football.


Norwegian footballer Ada Hederberg along with England’s Lucy Bronze and Brazil’s Marta are among the front-runner for the Women’s Ballon d’Or.