Follow Us:

IPL 2017: Mitchell McClenaghan encourages Mumbai continue winning momentum

Mumbai beat Delhi by 14 runs to register their sixth consecutive win in the IPL 2017.

SNS | New Delhi |

New Zealand pacer Mitchell McClenaghan claimed three wickets to help Mumbai Indians continue their winning momentum as the table-toppers beat Delhi Daredevils by 14 runs to register their sixth consecutive win in the IPL 2017.

Despite chasing a small target of 143 runs, Delhi failed miserably and Mumbai bowlers shone to the maximum to turn the table at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday.

Supporting McClenaghan in the bowling attack, Jasprit Bumrah took two wickets, while Hardik Pandya joined the carnival after dismissing Karun Nair (5). 

The batting line-up of Delhi appeared collapsing right from the beginning as they lost first six of their batsmen for a single-digit score, out of which, Aditya Tare, Corey Anderson, and Rishabh Pant were dismissed for the duck.

At the lower middle-order, Kagiso Rabada (44) and Chris Morris (52*) ignited some hopes for Delhi fans. They established a 91-run partnership stand for the seven-wicket to drive Delhi a bit closer to the target.

In Mumbai's innings, Zaheer Khan led Delhi bowling unit had impressed as they dominated table-toppers Mumbai on their home ground and restricted them to 142/8 in their innings.

After winning the toss, Delhi decided to bowl first and kept Mumbai under control throughout 20 over of cricket.

Experienced leg-spinner Amit Mishra and young pacer Pat Cummins gained maximum in the bowling assault as both the bowlers claimed two wickets each.

Mishra took the scalp of MI skipper Rohit Sharma (5) and pinch-hitter Krunal Pandya (17), while Nitish Rana (8) and Kieron Pollard (26) were the victims of Cummins.

South African pacer Rabada, who played his fist game for Delhi, claimed the wicket of opener Parthiv Patel (8) and impressed with the run out of Harbhajan Singh (2), where he defeated the Indian in a sprint.

For Mumbai, Jos Buttler scored highest 28 runs as the table-toppers lost four of their batsmen for a single-digit score.