YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy on Thursday took oath as the 17th Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh before thousands of cheering supporters.

The 46-year-old Jagan, as he is popularly known, was administered oath of office and secrecy by Governor ESL Narasimhan at the Indira Gandhi Municipal Stadium in Vijayawada.

Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu congratulated Jagan Mohan Reddy after the swearing-in.

“I congratulte Shri Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy on assuming office as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh today. I wish a speedy growth of the State on all fronts and a great success in all future endeavours [sic],” the Vice-President said.


Heavy rain and strong winds that lashed the area last night did not deter supporters of the young YSRCP chief from attending the ceremony.

The YSRCP chief, who is the son of former Chief Minister YS Rajasekhara Reddy, took oath in Telugu at the ceremony.

The event was also attended by Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, DMK leader MK Stalin and thousands of party workers.

Jagan’s YSRCP cruised to a landslide victory in Assembly elections in the state – its first since the 2014 bifurcation. His party won 151 of the 175 seats in the Assembly.

Former Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) could manage to win only 23 seats. One seat went to actor-turned-politician Pawan Kalyan’s Janasena Party. The TDP was also routed in the Lok Sabha elections, bagging just 3 of the 25 seats in the state.

Naidu did not attend the swearing-in of his successor despite Jagan Reddy personally telephoning the TDP chief to extend the invite.

A meeting of TDP’s newly-elected MLAs presided over by Naidu decided to depute a delegation to Reddy’s residence to congratulate him before his swearing-in.

Earlier today, local priests met Jagan in Vijayawada and blessed him ahead of his swearing-in ceremony.

The newly Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh is expected to constitute the cabinet on 7 June.