Communist Party of India-Marxist, CPI(M), General Secretary Sitaram Yechury has said that the single largest parties in Goa, Manipur and Meghalaya were not invited to form government and the same rules should be followed in Karnataka.

While sharing screenshots of tweets by Finance Minister Arun Jaitley in 2017, Yechury said “BJP govt appointed Governors didn’t invite single Largest Party in either Goa, 2017 (INC, 17 out of 40 seats), Manipur 2017 (INC 28 of 60) or Meghalaya 2018 (INC 21 out of 60). Union ministers gave arguments supporting them. The precedent is there to follow, right?”.

In the tweets, the Finance Minister had argued that in a hung Assembly, if the majority of the elected MLAs form a coalition, the Governor would constitutionally right in inviting the leader of the majority coalition to form the government and prove their majority within a short period.

CPI(M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury’s remarks comes after high voltage drama unfolded with both the BJP and the JD(S)-Congress alliance claiming their right to form the government after Karnataka gave a fractured verdict in 2018 Assembly elections.

Also read | Inching closer to a Congress-mukt India, well almost

“Same ‘rules’ followed when state governments were formed in Goa, Manipur and Bihar recently, must be followed now. Sauce for the goose must be sauce for the gander! JD(S)-Congress are together, past the majority mark & must be called to form the govt and take the floor test,” Yechury wrote in another tweet.

“On paper the JD(S)-Congress in Karnataka have a majority. Noone else does. They should be allowed to prove it on the floor of the House. See the reasoned decision of President KR Narayanan in 1998 that favoured the BJP then. Surely, the BJP would agree to the same principle now?”, Yechury said in a tweet.

With Janata Dal-Secular accepting support from Congress to form the government and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerging as a single largest party in the Karnataka elections, the race to get Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala’s invite to form government has intensified.

As per the final tally, the BJP has won 104 seats, Congress 78, JD(S) 38 seats and two seats went to others. The elections took place for 222 seats in the 224 member House.

Must read | Karnataka verdict: JD(S)-Congress or BJP? All eyes on Raj Bhavan

Also read | Karnataka verdict: BJP poaching Congress MLAs, alleges DK Shivakumar