A day before the no-confidence motion, NDA ally Shiv Sena has confirmed that the party will support the Narendra Modi-led central government.

According to reports, Shiv Sena will vote against the no-confidence motion in Lok Sabha on Friday.

“We will support the BJP. A formal announcement may be made by this evening,” a source close to Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray told PTI.

On the first day of the Monsoon Session, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan had admitted the motion moved by the Opposition including the Congress and former BJP ally TDP.

Also Read | Monsoon Session: Opposition members raise slogans against Jayant Sinha

TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu had sought the support of other parties for the motion, citing the NDA government’s “non-fulfilment of the promise” in granting special status to his state.

In a letter to all MPs, the Andhra Pradesh CM had said, “In view of the continued adamant attitude of BJP led NDA Govt, TDP has moved No Confidence Motion against them. I appeal to you to support the motion moved by our MPs.”

The no-confidence motion moved by the Opposition doesn’t pose a threat to the government as NDA enjoys absolute majority in the House.

Sources in the party said the government would get the support of 314 MPs in the lower house, which has an effective strength of 535 members. The majority mark is 268.

Read More | Congress stages walkout after Rajnath Singh says lynching is a state subject

BJP has issued a whip to its Lok Sabha members for two days and asked them to be present in the House.

In a House of 535 members, the ruling National Democratic Alliance has 313 members in the Lok Sabha, including 274 (including the Speaker) of BJP, 18 of Shiv Sena, six LJP and four SAD.