The government on Saturday appointed new governors for the states of West Bengal, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, and Nagaland while Madhya Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel has been moved to Uttar Pradesh. Anandiben Patel has been replaced by Lalji Tandon who was so far the Governor of Bihar where Fagu Chauhan has been appointed as the new Governor.

Lalji Tandon was appointed the Governor of Bihar in August last year.

According to a Rashtrapati Bhavan press release, “The President of India is pleased to make the following appointments. Anandiben Patel, Governor of Madhya Pradesh is transferred and appointed as Governor of Uttar Pradesh.”

Jagdeep Dhankar has been appointed as the Governor of West Bengal and Ramesh Bais as the Governor of Tripura. RN Ravi, the government’s representative and interlocutor for the Naga peace talks, has been appointed the Governor of Nagaland. The 1976-batch IPS officer has worked closely with National Security Adviser Ajit Doval and broadly worked on a treaty with dominant Naga group NSCN-IM to reach an agreement with the government.

Noted Supreme Court lawyer Jagdeep Dhankhar has been named as the new Governor of West Bengal. Dhankhar was Union Deputy Minister of Parliamentary Affairs in 1990-91. He quit the Congress in 2003 and joined the BJP. Jagdeep Dhankhar has replaced Keshari Nath Tripathi whose term ends next week.

Senior BJP leader from Chhattisgarh Ramesh Bais has been appointed as the governor of Tripura where Kaptan Singh Solanki had been the Governor since August last year. Solanki’s term comes to an end on July 27.

(With agency inputs)