Operation Lotus fails; democracy, Constitution win: Congress

Operation Lotus fails; democracy, Constitution win: Congress

Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala (Photo: Twitter)

Minutes after BS Yeddyurappa resigned as Chief Minister of Karnataka, two days after he was administered the oath of office by Governor Vajubhai Vala, Congress leader Randeep Surjewala took to Twitter saying “Operation Lotus fails” and added that it was the victory of democracy and the Constitution.

In a tweet, Surjewala said, “Operation Lotus’ fails! #BSYeddyurappa remains 2 day CM as the country predicted, breaking his own record of being 7 days CM. Democracy Wins! Constitution Wins!

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee took to Twitter congratulating Deve Gowda, saying, “Democracy wins. Congratulations Karnataka. Congratulations DeveGowda Ji, Kumaraswamy Ji, Congress and others. Victory of the ‘regional’ front”.

After BS Yeddyurappa’s resignation, Congress Party’s official Twitter account said: “Democracy has finally won the battle against the unholy politics of intimidation, corruption and lies. Congratulations Karnataka!”.

While, senior Congress leader Kapil Sibal said that the unsavoury drama has ended . The Governor in cahoots with the BJP should not have tried to manipulate the outcome. Full marks to the Congress and JDS.

While taking a jibe at Yeddyurappa, Former Union Minister P Chidambaram said, “Poor Mr Yeddyurappa. When the puppeteers fail, the puppet falls and breaks”.

Yeddyurappa’s third stint ends

This was BS Yeddyurappa’s third stint, his shortest as well, as Chief Minister. Bookanakere Siddalingappa Yeddyurappa, also known as BSY, became the chief minister of Karnataka for the first time in 2007.

But he could not hold on to the post as his government fell within seven days. He became the CM for the second time when he led his party to victory in the 2008 Karnataka Assembly elections and this time he occupied the chief ministerial office for 39 months.

The Lingayat leader, who was the first person from the Bharatiya Janta Party to become the CM of a south Indian state, is a seasoned politician with an eventful career.

The 75-year-old is considered to be the man behind the BJP’s latest achievement of coming out as the single largest party in Karnataka where Assembly elections were held on 12 May.

The BJP won 104 of the 222 seats where polling was held. The results were declared on 16 May.