Just ahead of the assembly elections in the state, cricketer-turned-politician Mohammad Azharuddin was made the working president of Telangana Congress Committee on Friday.

Azharuddin, a Congress leader, is a former Member of Parliament. He had won from Uttar Pradesh’s Moradabad in 2009 but lost from Rajasthan’s Tonk-Sawai Madhopur in 2014.

According to reports, Azharuddin, who hails from Hyderabad, wants to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Secunderabad in Telangana.

The state goes to polls on 7 December.

Besides Azharudding, the Congress also appointed two vice-presidents – Dr BM Vinod Kumar and Jaffer Javed.

Eight General Secretaries, including S Jagadeeshwara Rao and T Narsa Reddy, were also appointed.

Durgam Bhaskar was among the four Secretaries appointed today. The decision was taken by General Secretary Ashok Gehlot in New Delhi.

Besides the appointments in Telangana, the Congress also made Sandeep Dikshit, son of former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, the Secretary, AICC and attached to AICC Civic and Social Outreach Congress.

Sandeep Dikshit is an ex-MP.