Follow Us:

Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa wins floor test by voice vote; Speaker resigns

Earlier on Sunday, Yediyurappa had said that he was ‘100 per cent confident’ of proving majority in the House.

SNS | New Delhi |

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa won the floor test in the Assembly by voice vote on Monday.

As the special session began in the Karnataka Assembly, Yediyurappa moved the confidence motion to prove his government’s majority.

Moving the confidence motion, the Chief Minister said when Siddaramaiah and HD Kumaraswamy were CMs they did not indulge in “vindictive politics” and assured the House that his BJP government will also not indulge in “vindictive politics”.

He further said the administration under the former governments failed, adding that he will set it right.

“I love people who oppose me as well. I want to thank Narendra Modi, Amit Shah and JP Nadda,” he said.

Further appealing the House to unanimously express confidence in him, Yediyurappa said he wanted to address farmers’ issue and has decided to give two instalments of Rs 2000 to the beneficiaries under the PM Kisan scheme on behalf of the state. He also urged the opposition to work together.

Addressing the session, Congress leader Siddaramaiah said, “We hope you (BS Yediyurappa) will be chief minister but there is no guarantee of that. You are with the rebels, can you give a stable government? It’s impossible! I oppose this confidence motion because the reason is this government is unconstitutional and immoral”.

“Unfortunately, BS Yediyurappa has never been the chief minister with people’s mandate. Where’s the mandate? You didn’t have it in 2008, 2018 or even now. When he took oath there were 222 MLAs in House, where did BJP have 112 MLAs for majority? They had 105 seats. That is not mandate,” he further said.

Former chief minister HD Kumaraswamy said, “I ran the government for 14 months. I have no obligation to answer your (BS Yediyurappa) questions. I need to answer to my conscience. From the past 14 months, everything was being recorded. People know what work I have done”.

He further accused the BJP government of leaving the Rebel MLAs in the lurch.

Kumaraswamy further said that he will cooperate with the Yediyurappa government for the “sake of the people” of Karnataka.

BS Yediyurappa won the confidence motion through a voice vote after Speaker KR Ramesh said he has to rush to Hyderabad.

Soon after Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa won the confidence motion, Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar tendered his resignation. He submitted the letter of resignation to the deputy speaker.

Earlier on Sunday, Yediyurappa had said that he was “100 per cent confident” of proving majority in the House.

After failing the floor test on the confidence motion he moved on July 18 during the 10-day monsoon session to prove he had the majority, Kumaraswamy resigned on July 23.