The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha is likely to commence from June 6 and conclude on June 15. A pro-tem speaker of the Lok Sabha is also likely to be appointed the same day, said the sources on Monday.

Narendra Modi will take oath as the Prime Minister on May 30 at 7 pm at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Members of Union Council of Ministers will also take the oath. This was communicated by the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday afternoon.

The speaker is expected to be elected on June 10 while the pro-tem speaker will administer the oath of office to all the newly elected MPs, said the sources. Both the houses will take up the motion of thanks following the appointment of the speaker following which Narendra Modi will give his reply.

The sources added that the dates of the first Parliament session are also expected to be finalised during the first meeting of the new cabinet on May 31, the day after the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as the PM.

The joint sitting of the two houses of Parliament would be addressed by President Ram Nath Kovind on the first day of the session.

“The President will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at 7 pm on May 30, 2019, at Rashtrapati Bhavan,” said a tweet from the official Twitter account of Rashtrapati Bhavan run by the President’s Secretariat.

Narendra Modi was unanimously elected as the leader of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Saturday after which he called on the President in his capacity as the leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

(With PTI inputs)