Follow Us:

BJP graph goes all time high in Himachal Pradesh

It is the third successive win for BJP in the state since 2009 as the party had won 3 seats in 2009 and secured clean sweep in 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Sanjeev Kumar | Shimla |

With a historic clean sweep in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls in Himachal Pradesh, the BJP graph is all time high in the state. At 68.9 per cent vote share against 27.4 per cent of Congress party in a two-cornered contest, the party has got highest vote share not only in Himachal, but in the country.

Further, the party outsmarted the main opposition party Congress in all 68 assembly segments of the state with BJP candidates getting lead in all segments across the state.

The party leaders are attributing the win as mandate for policies and agenda of Prime Minister Narendra Modi government who had kept national interests on top priority.

In a history of sorts in the state, all four BJP candidates Suresh Kashyap (Shimla), Anurag Thakur (Hamirpur), Ram Swaroop Sharma (Mandi) and Kishan Kapoor (Kangra) won by a margin of over 3 lakh votes.

READ | ‘Modi again’ works wonders for BJP in Himachal Lok Sabha elections

It is the third successive win for BJP in the state since 2009 as the party had won 3 seats in 2009 and secured clean sweep in 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

The historic victory is also a strategic win for party organization in the state as the party was successful in reaching out to its cadres till booth level, much before the announcement of the general elections in the country.

In fact, Union minister Nitin Gadkari in the meeting of Panna Pramukhs of Kangra Parliamentary constituency in Kangra in February this year had credited party leadership for taking lead in energising party cadres ahead of Lok Sabha polls.

The factionalism within Congress party and negative campaign against BJP leaders including PM Modi has also contributed to landslide win, feel party leaders.

READ | Democracy, people of India have won: PM Modi in victory speech

 “The people of the state voted for strong and stable government at Centre under Modi and it is the reason that the party got record vote share in Himachal,” state BJP general secretary Chandermohan Thakur told The Statesman.

The common masses trusted the strong leadership of PM Modi and pro-poor policies of BJP led NDA government at Centre, he said.

“Several pro-people initiatives as Ujjwala Yojna, Ayushman Bharat scheme, Kisan Samman Nidhi Yojna among others led the people to trust Modi government and voted for BJP for second consecutive term,” added Thakur.

The victory is being seen in party circles as a mandate for Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur government’s initiatives in the last one and half years.

State BJP chief Satpal Singh Satti said the mandate was against the negative and malicious agenda of the Congress party against PM Modi.

He thanked the people of the state for overwhelming support to the party and said the party will now start gearing up for assembly elections in the state.