The AIADMK on Tuesday accused Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy of violating the model code of conduct alleging that the Congress leader was disbursing cash to public through pre-dated cheques from CM relief fund.

Vaiyapuri Manikandan, the MLA from Puducherry’s Muthialpet, wrote to the Election Commission alleging that Narayanasamy was issuing pre-dated cheques to the public in selected areas of Puducherry region.

“The CM is disbursing cash payments from Chief Minister’s Relief Fund for his own party members,” he alleged.

“The payments were issued in the form of pre-dated cheques to the public of patronising INC party in selected areas of Puducherry region with instruction to realise the cheques immediately,” Manikandan wrote.

In the letter, the AIADMK leader also alleged that the banks have been told not to bounce the cheques even if there are no adequate funds in the account.

“Bank authorities release payment as and when the account is re-filled. So, the pending payments will be released from the bank soon after the receipt of funds without catching the eyes of anybody,” he wrote in the letter addressed to the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora.

Manikandan pointed out that no one can blame the Chief Minister for violating the Model Code of Conduct since the money is being taken out in a phased manner.

“Since these transactions are not visible to the eyes, but the activities of Puducherry CM are misappropriating funds of the exchequer and violating the MCC,” the letter reads further.

In his complaint, the AIADMK MLA requested the ECI to interfere and stop the transfer of funds till the end of Lok Sabha elections.

The Lok Sabha elections 2019 will be held in seven phases from 11 April to 19 May, the Election Commission of India announced on Sunday. Counting will be held on 23 May.

At a press conference in New Delhi’s Vigyan Bhawan, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said while elections in the majority of the states across the country would be held in a single phase, some states would witness elections in seven phases.

All 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu and the only seat in Puducherry will vote on 18 April in an election which will be held in just one phase.

The general elections are being held for 543 seats of the 17th Lok Sabha.