Countdown for the Lok Sabha polls appears to have begun for the BJP, with the party setting up 17 committees, including one that will prepare the BJP manifesto. Home Minister Rajnath Singh will head a 20-member ‘sankalp patra’ (manifesto) committee while Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, who has been the main communicator of the party with the media, will head the 20-member publicity wing.

The roadmap for election preparation, which was drawn up by party president Amit Shah, was released in a statement on Sunday, which said Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Piyush Goyal and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, and former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan among others had been tasked with preparing the party’s manifesto.

Jaitley will also be a member of this committee.

Union minister Nitin Gadkari would head a committee that would reach out to social and volunteer organisations while his cabinet colleague Sushma Swaraj would head a group to produce literature for the polls, said the statement.

Ravi Shankar Prasad will head the party’s media group.

HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar will lead the group that will organise meetings of intellectuals.

The Lok Sabha polls are expected to be held in April-May with the BJP under Prime Minister Narendra Modi eyeing a re-election.