Re-polling would be held in five more polling stations in Andhra Pradesh during the seventh and the last phase of the Lok Sabha elections on May 19. This was ordered by the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Wednesday.

Gopal Krishna Dwivedi, the state Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), informed that the decision to hold re-polling was taken by the poll body following complaints from both YSR Congress and Telugu Desam Party over alleged electoral malpractices during the polling held on April 11 in the first phase.

According to an EC communication, re-polling will be held in polling stations at Kammapalli, NR Kammapalle, Pulivarthipalli, Kothakandriga and Venkatrama Puram villages from 7 am to 6 pm.

The EC already conducted re-polling in five other polling stations in three districts of Guntur, Nellore and Prakasam of Andhra Pradesh on May 6.

Polling to 175-member Assembly and all 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state were held in a single phase on April 11.

Earlier on Wednesday, the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and Congress urged the Supreme Court to order fresh polls in Tripura West Lok Sabha seat, alleging large scale rigging and electoral malpractices.

The CPI-M had earlier demanded re-poll in the entire Tripura West Lok Sabha constituency complaining of various irregularities in the April 11 polling. Following the demand, the Election Commission had ordered re-poll in only 168 of the total 1,679 polling stations in the constituency as electoral malpractices were detected during the first round of voting.

(With IANS inputs)