With the commencement of the first phase of polling for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Thursday, 24.31 per cent of voting had been reporting till 11 am, say the sources.

In poll-related violence reported from Andhra Pradesh, TDP leader S Bhaskar Reddy was killed in Tadipatri town of Anantapur. TDP has alleged that YSRCP workers are behind the incident.

The Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) are in the news yet again for developing glitches in the state as informed by the Chief Election Officer of Andhra Pradesh where more than 350 EVMs have broken down.

In single phase, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Uttarakhand, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Telangana are voting while parts of Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal are casting the ballot.

The politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh is voting on eight seats out of a total of 80 seats while Maharashtra is voting on 7 out of 48, Assam 5 out of 14, Bihar 4 out of 40, Odisha 4 out 21, West Bengal 2 out of 42, Jammu and Kashmir 2 out of 6, Tripura on 1 out of 2, Manipur 1out of 2, and Chhattisgarh 1out of 11.

A few famous candidates who are in the fray include Nitin Gadkari, Mahesh Sharma, VK Singh, Chirag Paswan, Jitan Ram Manjhi, Harish Rawat, Nana Patole, Asaduddin Owaisi, Renuka Choudhary, Muhammad Akbar Lone, and Kiren Rijiju.