Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3 Live Updates: A total of 117 seats across 15 states and Union Territories are voting today as part of a mammoth democratic process to elect the 17th Lok Sabha. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah exercised their franchise in Gandhinagar.

All seats in Gujarat (26) and Kerala (20) are going to polls today, besides four seats in Assam, five in Bihar, seven in Chhattisgarh, 14 each in Karnataka and Maharashtra, six in Odisha, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, five in West Bengal, two in Goa, and one each in Dadra-Nagar Haveli, Daman-Diu and Tripura.

According to Election Commission figures, nearly 18.56 crore voters are eligible in this phase who will exercise their franchise at the 2.10 lakh polling booths and stations set up across the 15 states and UTs. Elaborate security arrangements are also in place at all these places.

In the first two phases of the seven-phased elections, 187 constituencies went to polls on April 11 and April 18. The polling process in all southern states will be completed tomorrow with the third phase. The polling for all 543 seats will be over with the seventh and last phase on 19 May, and the counting of votes to decide the fate of over 1600 candidates will take place on 23 May, exactly a month from today.

The presidents of two main parties, ruling BJP and opposition Congress, are contesting in the today’s election — BJP chief Amit Shah from Gandhinagar in Gujarat, and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi from Wayanad in Kerala.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be exercising his franchise in Gandhinagar today.

Welcome to thestatesman.com live blog. Stay tuned for latest updates on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3.