Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on Wednesday, while addressing an election meeting at Deoghar in Jharkhand, claimed that Congress will not only lose the ongoing Lok Sabha elections but has already accepted its defeat.

PM Modi was rallying in support of two-time BJP MP Nishikant Dubey who is contesting from Godda Lok Sabha seat. Opposite him is Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) candidate Pradip Yadav who is backed by the opposition grand alliance.

In a veiled allusion to Congress leaders Mani Shankar Aiyar and Sam Pitroda, PM Modi said that the party has already fielded “two batsmen” to defend the “naamdar” (Rahul Gandhi) from the blame of defeat, saying that they were tasked to take the responsibility for the poor poll show of Congress.

“One (Piroda) says ‘hua to hua’ (it happened, so what) on the 1984 anti-Sikh riots, the other (Aiyar) abused me again after abusing me during the Gujarat elections,” said PM Modi.

Sam Pitroda had, a few days back, while rubbishing BJP’s allegation that the 1984 anti-Sikh riots took place on the orders of former PM Rajiv Gandhi had said, “Ab kya hai 84 ka? Aapne kya kiya 5 saal mein, uski baat kariye. 84 mein hua to hua. Aapne kya kiya? (What about 1984 now? What have you done in the last five years, talk about that. What happened in 1984, happened. What have you done?).”

Mani Shankar Aiyar, on Tuesday, justified his “neech aadmi” remark that he made for PM Modi in December 2017 just before the Gujarat assembly elections.

“The Congress has understood this very well. That is why it has started preparing for the results. Now you will think, when the BJP-NDA is winning, why the Congress will prepare? Its preparation is, ‘uska thikra, party mein, kiske sir mein phode’ (on whose head the defeat should be thrust upon)?

“The Congress can’t say that they lost elections for ‘naamdar’, which will be against the principles of ‘vanshvad’ (dynasty). It was only after the fifth phase that the two nearest ‘darbaris’ (courtiers) of the family started batting on their own,” said the prime minister.

Godda, Dumka (ST) and Rajmahal (ST) will go to polls in the last phase on May 19.