Follow Us:

Delhi Metro timings changed for 12 May, the polling day

DMRC has revised the schedule for Sunday, 12 May, when the national capital will vote in the sixth phase of 2019 Lok Sabha elections

Statesman News Service | New Delhi |

The Delhi Metro timings have been changed for Sunday, 12 May, when the national capital will vote in the sixth phase of polling for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has revised the schedule, as per which services will be starting early on 12 May.

“On the day of the Lok Sabha elections in Delhi on 12th May, 2019 (Sunday) the Delhi Metro train services on all Lines will start from 04:00 AM so that the staff deployed on election duty can avail the facility,” said a DMRC official.

He added, “The trains will run with a frequency of 30 minutes on all the Lines till 06:00 AM. After 6:00 AM, Metro trains will run as per the normal Sunday timetable throughout the day.”

The trains going from Dwarka Sector 21 towards Vaishali will begin operations at 4.30 am.

Polling at a total of 13,819 polling stations at 2,696 locations in Delhi across its 70 assembly constituencies will start at 7 am.

Delhi will vote for its seven seats, and the high-octane campaigning will end of Friday evening when the 48-hour silence period ahead of the polling day will kick in.

The seven seats are New Delhi, East Delhi, North East Delhi , South Delhi, Chandani Chowk, North West Delhi and West Delhi.

Prominent candidates include veteran Congress leader Sheila Dikshit, Olympian boxer Vijender Singh, Union minister Harsh Vardhan, cricketer-turned -politician Gautam Gambhir and Atishi from AAP.

There are over 1.43 crore eligible voters in Delhi, and 78,73,022 of them male and 64,42,762 of them are female, while 669 belong to the third gender. The number of overseas electors is 40, and that of service voters is 11,005.