Alapan Bandopadhyay has been appointed as the new state home secretary. Incumbent Atri Bhattacharya, who was removed by the Election Commission on 15 May has not been reinstated by the state government unlike the other bureaucrats, IPS and police officers who were removed during the election period.

Bandopadhyay will retain the charge of the departments of commerce and industry, MSME and parliamentary affairs while Bhattacharya will remain the secretary of tourism department. The state government has brought into
effect both an IAS and IPS reshuffle. Youth secretary Ajit Ranjan Bardhan has been transferred to North Bengal Development Department and incumbent Barun Kumar Ray has been appointed as commissioner Malda.

Ms Choten Lama has been transferred to the backward classes welfare department with additional charge of tribal affairs and minority affairs secretary PB Salim has been appointed as the secretary, youth services and sports and the minority affairs will remain as additional charge.

Gyanwant Singh has been appointed as ADG (law and order) replacing Mr Siddh Nath Gupta, who was appointed to the post three months back. Mr Gupta has been transferred as ADG establishment and incumbent Jayanta Kumar Basu has been reinstated to the post of director, Directorate of Economic Offences. State government has appointed Mr Nishat Pervez as CP, Bidhannagar and reshuffled the DMs of 11 districts namely Howrah, Hooghly, East Burdwan, North and South 24 Parganas, Bankura,  Murshidabad, Nadia, Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri and Kalimpong.

Ms Mukta Arya, who was appointed as DM Bankura by the Election Commission has been posted as DM Howrah. Among the other DMs who have been transferred include P. Ulaganathan of Murshidabad who has been appointed as DM South 24 Parganas, DM Howrah Chaitali Chakraborty has been appointed as DM North 24 Parganas, JP Meena, DM Hooghly has been posted as DM Murshidabad and Mr Y Ratnakar Rao, DM South 24 Parganas has been appointed as DM Hooghly. Uma Shankar S, joint secretary of food and supplies department has been appointed as DM Bankura while Ms Shilpa Gourisaria, DM Jalpaiguri has been transferred to food and supplies department.

Sumit Gupta, DM Nadia has been transferred to the health department while DM Alipurduar Shubhanjan Das has been transferred to panchayat department. Lalithalakshmi V, joint secretary commerce and industry department has been appointed as DM Kalimpong while incumbent Vishwanath has been posted as director, Census Operation.

DM North 24 Parganas Antara Acharya has been transferred to the finance department and Vijay Bharti, director MSME has been posted as DM East Burdwan while incumbent Anurag Shrivastav has been appointed as director, MSME. Mr Pawan Kadiyan has been transferred from finance and posted as DM Nadia and A Tewary, ADM Howrah as DM Jalpaiguri.