ISLAMABAD, 1 JUNE: Pledging loyalty to the country, newly-elected members of National Assembly took oath (in dawn photo) in the first session of the 14th National Assembly today.
The swearing-in officially marked the first transition of power between democratically elected governments in the 66-year history of the country.
The incoming lawmakers arrived at the parliament building in Islamabad under tight security.
Moreover, chief of Pakistan Muslim League ~ Nawaz (PML-N), Nawaz Sharif also arrived at the Assembly after a period of 13 years and since he was ousted in a military coup led by General (retd) Pervez Musharraf. The newly-elected members were sworn in by outgoing Speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza. This was followed by signing the ‘Roll of Members’. After the signing, the House was adjourned until 11 a.m. on Monday for the election of the new Speaker and deputy Speaker.
Some successful candidates who failed to take oath during the inaugural session include Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan and Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam ~ Fazl chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman.
The oath-taking came weeks after the historic 11 May elections in which the PML-N emerged victorious. Nomination papers for Speaker and deputy Speaker are to be submitted to the National Assembly secretary by 12 noon tomorrow. The election will be held by secret ballot on Monday.
The secretariat has also released the tentative schedule for election of the new prime minister which will be held under Article 91(3) of the constitution.
Nomination papers for the prime minister&’s election have to be submitted to the National Assembly secretary by 2 p.m. on Tuesday and the election will be held on Wednesday.
The strongest candidate for the position is Mr Sharif, who once elected, will be sworn in as prime minister for an unprecedented third term.
“I thank Allah who gave our nation an opportunity to bring a new government through elections,” Mr Sharif said at Islamabad airport where he arrived from Lahore. PML-N leaders said they will take the Opposition on board to take on the various problems confronting Pakistan.