press trust of india
ISLAMABAD/LAHORE, 2 JUNE: The Pakistan National Assembly will elect its Speaker and Deputy Speaker tomorrow, with two senior leaders of PML-N nominated for the posts.
Secretary National Assembly has accepted the nomination papers of Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) candidate Sardar Ayaz Sadiq for the post of Speaker while Murtaza Javed Abbasi for that of Deputy Speaker, media reports said today.
Mr Sadiq won National Assembly seat from NA-122 Lahore while Mr Abbasi from NA-18 Abbottabad. The National Assembly will elect its Speaker and Deputy Speaker tomorrow, while the leader of the House will be elected on Wednesday. The main Opposition Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) fielded Nawab Yousuf as its candidate for the office of the Speaker and Ghulam Rasool for Deputy Speaker.
Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Sheryar Afridi for the post of Speaker and Munazza Hasan for that of Deputy Speaker.
Talking to media, Mr Sadiq said if elected as Speaker he will maintain impartiality while running the business of House.
Nomination papers of MQM parliamentarians S A Iqbal Qadri and Kishwar Zehra for the positions of Speaker and Deputy Speaker have also been accepted.
The nomination papers of all the candidates were declared valid and subsequently submitted in the National Assembly. The scrutiny of the nomination papers will take place today and the election for the posts will be held tomorrow.
After Monday’s secret ballot, outgoing Speaker Fehmida Mirza will administer the oath to the new Speaker.
Yesterday, Prime Minister-designate Nawaz Sharif, 63, returned to Pakistan’s National Assembly fourteen years after his last stint as a parliamentarian when he took oath with other lawmakers in the first democratic transition of power in the country’s 66-year history. The election of the Premier is scheduled for 5 June as Mr Sharif’s election as leader of the House is a foregone conclusion as the PML-N has over 180 members in the 342-strong National Assembly.
The first session of the 342-member National Assembly yesterday marked the first phase of transition of power in Islamabad and in the four provinces following the historic 11 May general election.

Milestone for Sikhs
In a historic milestone for the Sikhs in Pakistan, Sardar Ramesh Singh Arora has become the first person from the minority community to enter the Punjab province Assembly, since the country’s independence in 1947. Mr Arora belongs to Narowal district, 80 km from Lahore, and is associated with the Pakistan Gurudwara Prabandhak Committee. He took oath along with 340 other lawmakers during the first session of the new Punjab Assembly yesterday.
Zardari not to contest presidential polls
ISLAMABAD, 2 JUNE: President Asif Ali Zardari today said he will not contest the next presidential polls later this year as his Pakistan Peoples Party no longer has a majority in the National and Provincial Assemblies after it was routed in the historic 11 May general elections. Mr Zardari said he felt he no longer has the right to contest the next presidential election, which will be held once he completes his tenure in September. Mr Zardari, 57, was elected President in September 2008, when the PPP and its allies were in power at the centre and in Balochistan, Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa and Sindh provinces. pti