Bhubaneswar, 15 November
 KIIT University, which will conduct its ninth annual convocation ceremony on 16 November, will confer Honorary Doctorate degrees on Mauritius President Mr. Rajkeswur Purryag and Nobel Laureate scientist Prof. Oliver Smithies.
“Mr Purryag will get Honoris Causa D.Litt. while Honoris Causa D.Sc. will be conferred on Prof. Smithies, the renowned American geneticist,”  said vice-chancellor of KIIT University, Prof P P Mathur.
Prof Smithies had bagged the coveted Nobel Prize in 2007. 
Addressing media persons here yesterday, Prof Mathur and varsity registrar Dr Sasmita Samanta informed that Honoris Causa D.Litt. will also be conferred on well-known dancer Dr Sonal Mansingh and acclaimed-artist Dr. Pradyumna Kumar Mahanandia.
Among others, Prof. Smithies Maeda from USA; Dr. Shibhashis Giri from Germany; Prof Feng-Huei Lin from Taiwan; Prof Henry Chen-Yao Su from Taipei University, Taiwan; Dr. Loendana De Bartolo from Italy; Prof. Olena Deryabina and Prof Vitaliy A. Kordium from Ukraine; Prof. Man-Gi Cho from Korea; Prof Bruno Soares and Mrs Larissa Kern from Germany and Dr. Stitlana Novikova from Ukraine are slated to attend the function.
“A total of 2783 students of 2012 – 13 graduating batch from all streams of the University would receive their degrees on the occasion. Gold and silver medals will also be awarded to meritorious students in different fields,” said Dr Samanta.
Every year, KIIT University confers Pradyumna Bal memorial gold medal, Founder&’s gold medal, Chancellor&’s gold medal, VC&’s silver medal, PPL gold medal, Nanibala memorial gold medal on its most meritorious students at the convocation ceremony.