The Rashtriya Swayam Sewak’s (RSS) student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) dominated the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections on Friday as it won three of the four seats, while the Congress- affiliated National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) bagged only one.

ABVP’s presidential candidate Ashwit Dahiya defeated NSUI candidate Chetna Tyagi by a margin of over 19,000 votes. And Pradeep Tanwar and Shivangi Kharwal, secured the maximum number of votes for the posts of vice-president, and joint secretary, respectively.

The ABVP in a tweet said, “We have done it, yet again! We thank the students of Delhi University for reaffirming their faith in our leadership and choosing ABVP.”

The only seat that NSUI managed to win was the post of DUSU secretary. Ashish Lamba from NSUI defeated ABVP’s Yogi Rathee by a margin of 2,053 votes.

The voter turnout was recorded at 39.90 per cent this year, over four notches down from last year’s 44 per cent.

Sixteen candidates, including four women, were in the fray and 52 polling centres were set up, with over 1.3 lakh eligible voters.

Polling began on Thursday in morning colleges at 9.30 a.m. and ended at 1 p.m., while in evening colleges it commenced at 3 p.m. and ended at 7.30 p.m.

It is a repeat of the last year results where the ABVP had won three posts while the NSUI won just one.