Follow Us:

Cong names Odisha election, manifesto committee members

Statesman News Service |

Congress on Friday cleared the names of leaders from Odisha for appointment to the Pradesh Election Committee and Manifesto Committee and as incharges of each district for the forthcoming panchayat polls in the state.

"Congress President Sonia Gandhi has approved the names of party leaders for Pradesh Election Committee, Manifesto Committee and district incharges for forthcoming panchayat polls," AICC general secretary Janardan Dwivedi said in a statement.

While the Pradesh Panchayat Election Committee comprises names of 36 party leaders from the state, with state president Prasad Harichandan and CLP leader Narsingh Midhra being part of the panel.

The Committee also has presidents of Pradesh Youth Congress, Mahila Congress and NSUI, besides chief organiser of Odisha Seva Dal as its ex-officio members.

The party also formed a nine-member Manifesto Committee and appointed 30 district incharges for the upcoming panchayat elections.