Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders, including party chief Amit Shah and union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, congratulated Nitish Kumar for the emphatic win of the Grand Alliance in Bihar on Sunday.

"I congratulate Nitish Kumar and (Rashtriya Janata Dal chief) Lalu Prasad Yadav on their win," BJP president Amit Shah tweeted.

"We respect the mandate of people of Bihar. Good wishes to the new government, hope they take Bihar much ahead in terms of development," posted Shah, who campaigned extensively for the party in Bihar.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh also congratulated Nitish for the victory, tweeting, “Spoke to Nitish Kumar over the phone and congratulated him on his party’s victory in Bihar assembly elections.”

Former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi also congratulated the Grand Alliance, and tweeted, “On the victory of Grand Alliance in Bihar Assembly elections I congratulate Nitish Kumar, Lalu Prasad Yadav and the Congress.”

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance, which joined hands with the Upendra Kushwaha-led Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), Ram Vilas Paswan-led Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and the Manjhi-led Hindustani Awam Morcha-Secular (HAM-S) appears headed for a drubbing in the polls. The Grand Alliance appears headed to win 170 seats in the 243-seat assembly.