TMC firm on SMC poll candidates

"There is no question of any change. It is party chief Mamata Banerjee's instructions. Party leaders and workers will have to accept the list of candidates and work for them." A party insider, meanwhile, said: "If we break the list after changing a single candidate, it would be very difficult to tackle a chain of reaction."

Left names candidates for bypolls

Abdur Rauf of All India Forward Block will be contesting from Dinhata assembly constituency while CPI-M’s Soumen Mahato will contest from Shantipur. CPI-M candidate Debajyoti Das will be contesting the Khardaha seat and RSP candidate Anil Chandra Mondal will be contesting from Gosaba.