UEFA Champions League: Team news, lineups for Liverpool vs Roma

Can the Reds join Real Madrid in the final or will the Wolves script yet another upset?

UEFA Champions League: Team news, lineups for Liverpool vs Roma

Liverpool winger Mohamed Salah (Photo: AFP)

Roma have a mountain to climb as they host Liverpool for the second leg of their UEFA Champions League semi-final and the lineups for Wednesday’s clash at the Stadio Olimpico have been revealed.

The hosts are trotting out in a 4-3-3, with Edin Dzeko, Stephan El Shaarawy and Patrick Schick leading the line.

Lorenzo Pellegrini, Daniele De Rossi and Radja Nainggolan shore up the midfield while the likes of Alessandro Florenzi, Kostas Manolas, Federico Fazio and Aleksandar Kolarov line up ahead of custodian Alisson.

Liverpool are lining up in their usual 4-3-3, with Loris Karius retaining his place between the sticks.

Andy Robertson, Virgil van Dijk, Dejan Lovren and Trent Alexander-Anrold complete the backline while James Milner, Jordan Henderson and Georginio Wijnaldum feature in midfield.

Up front, it’s the familiar faces of Roberto Firmino, Sadio Mane and former Liverpool winger Mohamed Salah who feature.

After thrashing the Giallorossi 5-2 at Anfield last week, Jurgen Klopp’s men are heavy favourites to set up a final with Real Madrid.

However, the fact that the Reds shipped two late goals will give the Italian outfit hope.

Liverpool’s defence, although vastly improved since the start of the season, isn’t the stingiest around and with the Merseyside outfit struggling with injuries in midfield, there’s everything still to play for.

And with Roma’s ultra fans expected to make the Olimpico a veritable cauldron, anything could happen, especially after their miraculous comeback against Barcelona in the quarters.

Roma: Alisson, Florenzi, Manolas, Fazio, Kolarov, Pellegrini, De Rossi (C), Nainggolan, Schick, Dzeko and El Shaarawy.

Liverpool: Karius, Robertson, van Dijk, Lovren, Alexander-Arnold, Milner, Henderson (C), Wijnaldum, Mane, Firmino and Salah.

Match kicks off at 20.45 GMT/00.15 IST.