Singapore on Friday defeated Scotland by 2 runs in a qualifier match for the 2020 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

At the ICC Academy Stadium in Dubai, Singapore, after getting an invitation to bat, posted 168 runs in their stipulated quota of 20 overs. Surendran Chandramohan scored 51 runs — highest for the side.

For Scotland, Safyaan Sharif and Josh Davey scalped two wickets each for 28 and 26 runs, respectively.

Chasing the target of 169 runs, Scotland lost wickets at regular intervals and could manage only 166 runs before running out of balls.

Selladore Vijayakumar returned figures 3 for 16 to restrict Scotland inches before the finishing line.

With the win, Singapore earned two valuable points and top the Group A table, whereas Scotland occupies the bottom place.

The 2019 ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier, which started on Friday, will run till 2 November in the United Arab Emirates. The tournament will determine the teams to qualify for the 2020 ICC T20 World Cup tournament in Australia.

Talking about the 2020 T20 World Cup, it will feature a total of 16 teams, where 10 teams (Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies) have already qualified for the tournament.

However, in the 2020 T20 World Cup Qualifier tournament, a total of 14 teams are competing in, out of which the top six teams will get a flight for Australia to join Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in the first group stage.

Here are the 14 teams divided into two groups:

Group A

Singapore, Netherlands, Kenya, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Bermuda, Scotland.

Group B

Ireland, Jersey, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Nigeria, Canada, Hong Kong.