Indian Premier League franchise Mumbai Indians (MI) appointed former seamer Zaheer Khan as Director of Cricket Operations on Tuesday.

He is now part of the team’s think-tank. Khan, who is also called the pioneer of the knuckle-ball, would bring his two-decade experience to his new managerial role for Mumbai Indians.

Zaheer Khan has also played for Indians in 2009, 2010 and 2014 seasons. In his 30 outings with Mumbai Indians, Zaheer Khan has picked 29 wickets.

On Tuesday in the IPL auction 2019, MI bought the services of all-rounder Yuvraj Singh, Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga, Anmolpreet Singh, Pankaj Jaiswal, Barinder Sran and Rasikh Dar. Before IPL auction, MI had retained the services of 18 players including the likes of all-rounder Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Ishan Kishan, Aditya Tare and Suryakumar Yadav.


MI had traded wicket-keeper Quinton De Kock with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Senior Indian opener Rohit Sharma will continue to lead Mumbai Indians.

MI squad:

Retained: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Quinton de Kock, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff

Released: Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya

Traded: Quinton de Kock from RCB

Players Bought:

Lasith Malinga – Rs 2 crore

Anmolpreet Singh – Rs 80 lakh

Barinder Sran – Rs 3.40 crore

Pankaj Jaiswal – Rs 20 lakh

Rasikh Salam – Rs 20 lakh

Yuvraj Singh – Rs 1 crore