The much-awaited Indian Premier League (IPL) is just a day away from kick-starting. In the opening match of the tournament on Saturday, defending champion Mumbai Indians under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma will take on Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings.

In the last 10 seasons, Mumbai Indians have been the most successful franchise and Rohit Sharma is the captain with the highest win percentage of 61.8.

Rohit Sharma has been appointed the skipper of MI mid-way in 2013 and under his leadership, Mumbai Indians had won three IPL trophies. The Indian cricket opener was also part of the Deccan Chargers team that won the IPL in 2009.

In the much-talked about IPL players’ auction, MI did not let Rohit go off in 2018 and also retained the core of MI except Lasith Malinga. However, Malinga will be seen in the role of bowling mentor this time around.

From star all-rounder Hardik Pandya to hitter Kieron Pollard to pacer Jasprit Bumrah, Mumbai Paltan have everything on their team for winning IPL 2018.

Talking to GQ magazine, MI skipper Rohit recollects the moment where it all started: “Anil Kumble [MI mentor] called me up to tell me that Ricky Ponting had decided to step down as captain and that I would have to lead the next day’s game. I was in my hotel room when I got that call. I hung up, walked outside and took a deep breath. And just let the news sink in.”

It seems Rohit Sharma had cracked the code of how to make MI most successful IPL team and found the best combination. However, Rohit beg to differ, “I wish I could figure that out because then we’d never lose! Because on any given day, you never know who’s going to step up and deliver.”

Talking about IPL 2018, Rohit said, “Ponting [now Delhi’s head coach] knows how to get the best out of everyone. Sunrisers Hyderabad will also be challenging because they have a good team balance. But I think, Kings XI Punjab could be a surprise.”

Mumbai Indians squad: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Pat Cummins, Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ben Cutting, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Pradeep Sangwan, Jason Behrendorff, Jean-Paul Duminy, Saurabh Tiwary, Tajinder Dhillon, Akila Dhananjaya, Nidheesh MD Dinesan, Aditya Tare, Siddhesh Dinesh Lad, Mayank Markande, Sharad Lumba, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan