Finally, Shah Rukh Khan-owned franchise Kolkata Knight Riders has revealed the name of their captain for the eleventh edition of Indian Premier League (IPL). Versatile batsman Dinesh Karthik has been cherry-picked for the top spot getting preference over the likes of Robin Uthappa and Aussie player Chris Lynn.




However, the announcement will come as a shocker for the legions of loyal KKR fans who had voted for Chris Lynn to lead the side in an online poll on Twitter.


Other than Uthappa and Lynn, bowler Vinay Kumar and spinster Piyush Chawla were also in the running to lead the side as former skipper and veteran Indian opener Gautam Gambhir was snubbed by KKR in the 2018 edition of the popular T-20 tournament.

Gambhir had led Kolkata for seven years and managed to bring home the trophy twice. However, in the 2018 edition, Gambhir was sold to Delhi Daredevils for just Rs.2.8 crore after KKR decided to give the Delhi batsman a cold shoulder.

In the upcoming season of IPL, KKR will play their first match against Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on April 8 at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

KKR squad: Robin Uthappa, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc, Chris Lynn, Dinesh Karthik, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishank Jaggi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Nitish Rana, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Rinku Singh, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport, Mitchell Johnson, Javon Searless.