Follow Us:

India’s UK tour: England name ODI squad

India and England will first play three-match T20I series starting next week.


England Cricket Board (ECB) on Friday (29th June) announced their 14-man squad for three-match One Day International (ODI) series against India starting next month.

All-rounder Ben Stokes, who missed the Scotland and Australia series due to a torn left hamstring, has been added to the 14-man group after recovering from injury. If the reports are to be believed then Ben Stokes can also join England T20I team for three-match T20 International against India.

England’s squad for India ODI is similar to their 16-man squad against England that whitewashed mighty Australians by 5-0 at home.

Eoin Morgan will lead the strong batting line-up of England that includes Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Joe Root and Jason Roy. If England vs Australia was anything to say then English batters are in red-hot form and it would be interesting to see, how India will stop the inform England from scoring big.

English pacer Chris Woakes has been dropped from the squad as he is still recovering from a torn right quad and a long-standing knee injury. However, Woakes is expected to be a part of England’s squad for the latter part of the series.

All-rounder Moeen Ali and spinner Adil Rashid, the spin duo that ruined Australian batting lineups in the recently concluded ODI series are also included in the team.

India and England will first play three-match T20I series starting next week. The ODI series will begin at Trent Bridge from 12 July.

England ODI Squad against India: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Mark Wood