Shardul Thakur’s four-wicket haul (4/52) helped India restrict South Africa to 204, as the hosts lost all wickets in 46.3 overs. Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal took two wickets each. Kuldeep Yadav (1/51) and Hardik Pandya (1/39) were the other wicket-takers.

From the South African side, Khaya Zondo was the only batsman to score a half century.

After 25 overs: South Africa 116/3 (Khaya Zondo 44*, Heinrich Klaasen 6*)

After early dismissals of Aiden Markram (24) and Hashim Amla (10), AB de Villeirs in company of Khaya Zondo added 62 runs for the third wicket in 11 overs, before de Villiers fell to Yuzvendra Chahal for 30 runs.

Earlier, India opted to field after winning the toss against South Africa in the 6th and final One-Day International (ODI) match at the SuperSport Park, Centurion, on Friday.

After losing the six-match ODI series, the Proteas led by Aiden Markram will aim to end the tournament on the winning note.

Talking about India’s series win over South Africa, Indian skipper Virat Kohli said, “Every team has a vision of the 2019 World Cup and that’s what we need to plan for, but for now 4-1 seems great and we’ll look to wrap it up well. We want to win 5-1 for sure, that doesn’t change, but there’ll be a chance for others to step in as well. The first priority is to win and we’ll do anything to do that again.

The star South Africa batter Hashim Amla said, “I don’t think in one-day cricket we’ve been in this position. Maybe 2008 in England when we didn’t have a good one-day series. There are always positives and learning to take from it. We’ve got a few younger guys in the team who will think, ‘Phew, one-day cricket is tough.’ But thankfully it will only get easier for them because we haven’t played our best cricket.”

India lead the six-match ODI series 4-1.


South African squad: Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram(c), Jean-Paul Duminy, AB de Villiers, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungisani Ngidi, Farhaan Behardien, Imran Tahir, Khaya Zondo, Chris Morris

Indian squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni(w), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur