Mohammed Shami became the 20th Indian to complete 100 wickets in Test cricket, with the dismissal of Keshav Maharaj on Day 2 of the second test against the South Africa at the Centurion stadium on Sunday.

In the opening Test match of three-match series in Newlands, Cape Town, Shami Shami, 27, had taken his 97th, 98th and 99th and reached the landmark of 100 wickets at SuperSport Park on Saturday.

Mohammed Shami is the 20th Indian bowler and seventh speedster to achieve this feat after Kapil Dev, Zaheer Khan, Javagal Srinath, Ishant Sharma, Karsan Ghavri and Irfan Pathan.


Shami had completed this milestone in his 29th Test match. He is also the third fastest Indian pacer after Kapil Dev and Irfan Pathan to get 100 wickets.

Ravichandran Ashwin is the fastest Indian to take 100 wickets. Ashwin had reached the landmark of 100 wickets in just 18 matches. Before R Ashwin, Erapalli Prasanna was the fastest, who reached the milestone in 20 Tests. Anil Kumble (21), Shubhash Gupte, Pragyan Ojha and BS Chandrasekhar (22), Vinoo Mankad (23), Harbhajan Singh and Kapil Dev (25) are the other bowlers in the list.