England cricket team will aim to hit back as they take on an upbeat Team India led by Virat Kohli on Saturday (14th July) for the second match of the three-match One Day International (ODI) series. Team India will be keen to register their second consecutive win when they face England at the Lord’s, London.

In the first match, a maiden fifer for chinaman Kuldeep Yadav (6/25) followed by Rohit Sharma’s unbeaten 137-run knock sealed a comfortable eight-wicket victory for India.

The visitors dominated England, the No. 1 ODI side, in all departments of the game and took a crucial 1-0 lead in the series with 59 balls to spare.

The stars of the match were Kuldeep and Rohit, who thrashed hosts batsmen and bowlers throughout the match.

The batting department seemed settled with opener Shikhar Dhawan coming in form. The Delhi batsman played 27 balls and scored 40 runs, which includes eight boundaries.

Skipper Virat Kohli also showed why he is called one of the best batsmen in the format. India’s routine chasers Kohli and his in-form deputy Rohit collaborated for a 167-run stand to break the hopes of English bowlers.

But the middle and lower-order are yet to be tested but the way English bowlers were playing it seemed an uphill task to reach India’s middle and lower order.

In the bowling department, Kuldeep continued to remain a headache for English batsmen. In the shortest format also and now in the 50-overs game.

Kuldeep scalped six wickets for just 25 runs. He was well supported by pacer Umesh Yadav but the pacer was a little expensive.

The only concern for India is the pacers. Umesh, Hardik Pandya, and debutant Siddharth Kaul were not effective as they leaked runs when spinners, Kuldeep, Yuzvendra Chahal were trying to put pressure on English batsmen.

Ahead of the 2nd ODI, here is everything you need to know:

Date: The match will be played on Saturday (14 July).

Venue: Lord’s, London.

Time: The match will begin at 03:30 PM (IST).

Live Broadcast: Sony Six.


India squad:: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav

England Squad: Jos Buttler (wk), Eoin Morgan (c), Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Sam Curran, Dawid Malan, Jake Ball

-With IANS inputs.