South Africa have gained seven ratings points, lifting them to a total of 135
Dubai/Mumbai 8 July
India moved a rung to second spot, ahead of England, in the latest International Cricket Council Test rankings issued today, while South Africa strengthened their position as the top side after the annual updating of the championship table.
England, who won their last two Test series against India, find themselves below M S Dhoni’s side on account of their less consistent performances in other recent series, against Pakistan (0-3), South Africa (0-2) and a tie in the away series against eighth-ranked New Zealand (0-0).
However, Alastair Cook’s team can reclaim the number two spot by winning the Ashes series, starting on 10 July in Trent Bridge, Nottingham. England need to win at least 3-0 to regain the second position.
The Proteas have gained seven ratings points, lifting them to 135, 19 clear of second-ranked India.
The annual update ensures that the table continues to reflect recent form, with past results being discarded.
At a recent ICC board meeting, it was decided that the annual updating of the Test, One-Day International and Twenty 20 International rankings would now take place on 1 May each year, rather than 1 August, since it aligned better with the current international calendar.
In another development, it was said today that India’s tour of South Africa later this year would start with the visitors playing Twenty20 and 50-over internationals against the hosts before taking them on in a three-Test series.
According to the schedule of the matches released today by Cricket South Africa, India will begin their tour with a Twenty20 tour match against an SA Invitation XI at Potchefstroom on 18 November to gear themselves up for the two-match Twenty20 International series between 21 November and 24 November.
The visitors will then plunge into the best-of-seven ODI rubber, to be held between 27 November and 15 December, prior to engaging the world’s top-ranked team in a three-Test contest from 26 December this year to 19 January, 2014.
The three Tests will be played at Kingsmead (Durban), Sahara Park Newlands (Capetown) and the Wanderers (Johannesburg).