The Best FIFA awards were eventually announced in a mega event in Milan and it was the Barcelona star forward and football legend Lionel Messi who won the best men’s player of the year award in the award function.

Notably, the captain, coaches and a few selected reporters from the media from every member of the FIFA get the opportunity to cast their vote for the awards. It is these votes that are taken into consideration while giving away the awards including the best men’s player of the year.

Each person has to shortlist three names and while the first choice carries five points, the second and the third choice gives three and one point respectively. Although Cristiano Ronaldo failed to get the top award of the night, he was named in the FIFPRo World XI. Ronaldo, who is the captain of the Portugal national team, also made his three choices for the top award of the night.

CR7’s first choice for the award was Matthijs de Ligt and the second and third being Frenkie de Jong and Kylian Mbappe respectively.

List of all the winners at FIFA’s The Best Awards ceremony:

Best men’s player: Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona)

Best women’s player: Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)

Best men’s goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (BRA/Liverpool)

Best women’s goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal (NED/Atletico Madrid)

Men’s World XI of year: Alisson Becker (BRA/Liverpool); Sergio Ramos (ESP/Real Madrid), Virgil Van Dijk (NED/Liverpool), Matthijs De Ligt (NED/Juventus), Marcelo (BRA/Real Madrid); Luka Modric (CRO/Real Madrid), Frenkie De Jong (NED/Barcelona), Eden Hazard (BEL/Real Madrid); Lionel Messi (ARG/FC Barcelona), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/PSG), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus)

Women’s World XI of year: Sari Van Veenendaal (NED/Atletico Madrid); Lucy Bronze (ENG/Lyon), Wendie Renard (FRA/Lyon), Nilla Fischer (SWE/Linkopings), Kelly O’Hara (USA/Utah Royals); Amandine Henry (FRA/Lyon), Julie Ertz (USA/Chicago), Rose Lavelle (USA/Washington); Marta (BRA/Orlando), Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando), Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)

Men’s coach: Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Women’s coach: Jill Ellis (USA)

Puskas Award best goal: Daniel Zsori (HUN/Debrecen)

Fair-play award: Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds United