Follow Us:



Deborah to lead 9-member cycling team’s Indian challenge in CWG

Statesman News Service | New Delhi |


Ace rider Deborah will lead the nine-member Indian challenge in the cycling competition at the Commonwealth Games to be held in Gold Coast, Australia in April.

According to Cycling Federation of India (CFI)  Secretary General Onkar  Singh, the nine-member (5 women , 4 men) squad have been selected on the basis of the performance in the Asian Track Cycling Championship held at Nilai (Malaysia) from 16th to 21st February where Indian team won 4 medals including 3 gold and 1 bronze.

He said, “We have announced our best team for Commonwealth Games 2018 where we are expecting a good show from our cyclists.”

Admitting that India do not have a good track record in Commonwealth Games so far, he said, “This year our cyclists are in good shape and they will give a good competition to the leading countries like England, Australia and Canada.”

He said he was hopeful that the Women Cycling Team will figure in a podium finish.

He said the Indian team set the track on fire during the 38thSenior,/ 25th Junior Asian Track Cycling Championship Nilai (Malaysia) by winning all the sprinting events in the men junior sections.

The men junior team, comprising Esow (Andaman & Nicobar), Mayur Pawar( Maharashtra) and James Singh (Manipur) created a new continental record in sprint event by clocking 46.070 sec as against 46.095 earlier created by the Malaysian team.

The junior team outpaced Japan in the final with 17 -year old Esow, dominating the sprinting event by winning the other two sprinting events of Keirin and Individual sprint.

He not only created history by winning all three sprinting Olympic events but was the only male cyclist winning three gold medals in the junior category.

Karnataka’s Danamma won the first ever bronze medal in the endurance event of Point Race in women junior category.

Team for CWG

Women: Deborah (Sprint, Kerin, Individual Time Trial, Team Pursuit), Aleena Reji (Sprint, Individual Time Trial, Kerin), M Sonali Chanu (Endurance Events, Team Pursuit) T. Manorama Devi (Endurance Events, Team Pursuit ),   Amritha Reghunath (Team Pursuit, Point Race)

Men: Ranjit Singh (Team Sprint, Individual Time Trial  1000m),Sahil Kumar (Team Sprint, Keirin), Sanuraj P  (Team Sprint, Individual Sprint, Keirin ) Manjeet Singh (Endurance events)