India, the defending Asia Cup champions, will take on arch-rival Pakistan on 19 September in Dubai, just a day after they play their first match of the tournament against a team that is yet to qualify.

While India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan have all qualified for the tournament, the sixth place will be occupied by only one of the following six teams – UAE, Singapore, Oman, Nepal, Malaysia and Hong Kong.

Indian is placed in Group A along with Pakistan and the team that will qualify. Group B has Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the next stage.

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka will face each other in the tournament opener on 15 September. The final of the Asia Cup 2018 will be played on 28 September.

Indian cricket team selection committee led by MSK Prasad on Saturday announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018 to be played in Mumbai.

Captain Virat Kohli has been rested from the upcoming tournament and vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been named the skipper.

Senior Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan has been named the vice-captain. SunRisers Hyderabad bowler Khaleel Ahmed is the only new face in the squad.

India squad for Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma(C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC), KL Rahul, AT Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Kartik, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur and Khaleel Ahmed.

Asia Cup 2018 Schedule

Group Stage:

15 September – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Dubai)

16 September – Pakistan vs Qualifier (Dubai)

17 September – Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

18 September – India vs Qualifier (Dubai)

19 September – India vs Pakistan (Dubai)

20 September – Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

Super Four

21 September – Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Dubai)

21 September – Group B Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

23 September – Group A Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Dubai)

23 September – Group B Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

25 September – Group A Winner vs Group B Winner (Dubai)

26 September – Group A Runner-up vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)


28 September – Asia Cup 2018 Final (Dubai)