Follow Us:

2nd ODI: Dhawan, Karthik guide India to 6-wicket victory

Follow live updates of the second One Day International between India and New Zealand, underway at the MCA Stadium, Pune.

SNS | New Delhi |

Shikhar Dhawan scored 68 runs, while Dinesh Karthik contributed with 64 runs (not out) as India defeated New Zealand by six wickets to level the three-ODI series 1-1 at the MCA Stadium in Pune on Wednesday.

WICKET! Hardik Pandya loses his wicket for 30 runs. Spinner Mitchell Santner took the scalp of the pinch-hitter, who slammed a six and two boundaries in his 31-ball knock.

Dinesh Karthik completes his fifty off 76 balls. It was his ninth ODI fifty.

WICKET! Shikhar Dhawan gives a comfortable catch to Ross Taylor and departs for 68 runs. In his 84-ball knock, the Delhi batsman struck two sixes and five boundaries.

FIFTY for Dhawan! Shikhar Dhawan slams his 22nd half-century off 63 balls. India need 123 runs to win the match.

100 comes up for India in 20 overs!

WICKET! Skipper Virat Kohli loses his wicket to Colin de Grandhomme, got a big wicket for New Zealand. Kohli managed to score 29 runs off as many deliveries with a six and three boundaries.

Kohli was the driving force in Indin innings in the last match as he scored a notable 121-run knock in Mumbai.

After first 10 overs, India were 64/1, with Shikhar Dhawan (28*) and Virat Kohli (24*) batting for the men-in-blue. The hosts are 167 runs away of victory with nine wickets in hand.

WICKET! Indian opener Rohit Sharma departs for seven runs. Tim Southee earns an early breakthrough for New Zealand for a paltry 230-run total.

In the first ODI also, Rohit disappointed in the start as he was dismissed for 20 runs on his home ground.

Also read: Why Bhuvneshwar Kumar always shines in ‘pressure situation’?

End of first Innings!

Indian spearhead Bhuvneshwar Kumar claimed three wickets as India restrict New Zealand to 230/9 in the second ODI at the MCA Stadium in Pune on Wednesday.

For New Zeland, Henry Nicholls (42) and Colin de Grandhomme (41) scored conrtibutive knocks.

WICKET! Tail-ender Mitchell Santner goes back to pavilion after a short but entertaining appearance. Before losing his wicket to Jasprit Bumrah, Santner slammed 29 runs off 38 balls.

WICKET! Back-to-back wickets for Yuzvendra Chahal as he dismisses Adam Milne for a duck. New Zeland come down to 188/8 with six more overs to go.

WICKET! Colin de Grandhomme (41) lost his wicket to Yuzvendra Chahal in the 44th over. New Zeland were 188/7 after losing De Grandhomme, who scored a six and five boundaries in his 40-ball knock.

WICKET! Fiery pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar claims his third wicket and helps the hosts get rid of Henry Nicholls in the 38th over.

Nicholls was the lone warrior in the struggling New Zealand camp as he managed to hit a contributive knock amid tough times. He slammed three boundaries in his measured 62-ball knock.

WICKET! Spinner Axar Patel, who replaced Kuldeep Yadav in Playing XI, traps a big fish on the right occasion. Wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham departs for 38 runs and New Zealand seem in trouble with 118/5 in 29.1 overs.

Latham had scored a match-winning knock of 103 runs (run out) in Mumbai.

100 comes up for New Zealand after 26 overs!

WICKET! Hardik Pandya takes a big wicket, dismissing Ross Taylor for 21 runs in the 16th over. The match-winning partnership in Mumbai does not flourish in Pune. Pandya has another wicket with a short ball.

It was Taylor who scored a 95-run knock to help New Zeland win first ODI in Mumbai.

After 10 overs, New Zealand were 35-3 with Ross Taylor (6*) and Tom Latham (4*) fighting for the wounded Kiwis.

WICKET! Buvneshwar Kumar gets his second wicket in the seventh over as he bowls Colin Munro out for 12 runs.

It was a knuckle-ball on back of a length, which deceived Munro on the crease and the ball gets inside edge to smash onto the leg-bail.

WICKET! New Zeland skipper Kane Williamson departs for three runs. The visiting team was 25/2 in 5.4 overs. Indian pacer Jasprit Bumrah trapped him LBW to help his team take control in early minutes of the match.

Previously in 1st ODI, Williamson was dismissed for mere six runs in Mumbai.

WICKET! Bhuvneshwar Kumar earns India an early breakthrough as New Zeland lose their opener Martin Guptill for mere 11 runs in the third over.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to bat first against India in the second ODI at the MCA Stadium, Pune, on Wednesday.

New Zealand currently lead the three-match ODI series 1-0 as they defeated the hosts by six wickets in the first ODI in Mumbai.

Also read: Pune ODI engulfed in corruption scandal

Making no changes in the playing XI, Williamson said: “It was a very good performance, but it is a new day and it is important to execute our skills and adapt to the conditions. It was very humid in Mumbai, the more dry heat here and hopefully not that harsh on the body.”

India introduced one change in their playing XI as Axar Patel came in place of Kuldeep Yadav. In the first ODI, Kuldeep had claimed one wicket, conceding 64 runs in his 10-over spell.

Also read: BCCI suspends Pune curator after tampering claims in sting

“Looks like a good surface to bat on. The one we played against England was similar. Generally, the wicket plays better in the evening. We have won 9 out of 11 in recent times, you will lose one here and there. We need such things to bounce back from, we are looking for the challenge. It will also help us in the future when we are playing away from India,” Indian captain Virat Kohli said after the toss.

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (C), Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand Playing XI: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (WK), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Trent Boult