Meghalaya Chief Minister and National People’s Party president Conrad K Sangma has won the South Tura Assembly by-election by a margin of 8,400 votes, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) FR Kharkongor said.

With this win, the ruling NPP, which is heading a six-party Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government in the state, is now tied at 20 with the opposition Congress in the 60-member Meghalaya Assembly.

The NPP chief secured a total of 13,656 votes of the over 22,200 total votes polled in South Tura. His closest rival, Charlotte W Momin of the Congress, got 8,421 votes, said Kharkongor.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Sangma on his win.

“Congratulations for the win from South Tura, Chief Minister! Best wishes in your endeavours to take Meghalaya to new heights of growth,” he tweeted.

The MDA also has the support of the BJP (2), NCP (1) along with regional parties United Democratic Party (7), Peoples Democratic Front (4), Hill State Peoples Democratic Party (2) and two Independents.

Earlier, counting of votes for South Tura and Ranikor Assembly by-elections in Meghalaya began amid tight security on Monday morning.

Former Congress MLA Martin M Danggo, who had resigned from the Assembly in June, is contesting the Ranikor seat on NPP ticket, where United Democratic Party candidate P Marwein was leading against him after the first two rounds of counting, the CEO said.

The by-elections were held on August 23.

(With agency inputs)