The Supreme Court on Wednesday dismissed a petition seeking dismissal of seven union ministers, including Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, for being Rajya Sabha members.

An apex court bench headed by Chief Justice H.L. Dattu observed that when any one can become a minister then why object to Rajya Sabha members.

The chief justice was obviously referring to the constitutional provision which says that even a person who is not a member of any house can become a minister and remain so for six months during which period he has to be elected to either the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha.

"We can’t re-write the constitution," Chief Justice Dattu observed while dismissing the plea filed by Patna-based advocate Harendra Pratap Singh. 

Besides Jaitley, the petition sought quashing of appointment of union ministers Piyush Goel, Najma Heptullah, Dharmendra Pradhan, Prakash Javadekar, Ravi Shankar Prasad and Smriti Irani.