Irish rape victim attempts suicide
KOLKATA, 8 JUNE: The 21-year-old Irish woman, who was allegedly raped on the intervening night of 31 May-1 June in the Kalighat area, was hospitalised following attempted suicide. The woman attempted suicide by consuming sleeping pills yesterday morning at a Park Street hotel she was staying in, police sources said. She was rushed to a private nursing home in Alipore, where doctors put her on ventilation for the entire day. She was taken off ventilation today, but doctors said they would keep her under observation for some more time. sns
Srikanth in Thailand Grand Prix final
BANGKOK, 8 JUNE: Indian shuttler K Srikanth entered the final of the Thailand Grand Prix Gold badminton tournament after registering a comfortable straight-game victory over local favourite Thammasin Sitthikom in the men’s singles event here today. agencies (details on page 11)
Fresh summons for Vikram Agarwal
NEW DELHI/CHENNAI, 8 JUNE: Tamil Nadu Crime Branch-CID has issued fresh summons to hotelier Vikram Agarwal to appear for questioning next week in connection with the IPL betting case. Last week, Mr Agarwal, who is allegedly linked with IPL-betting and allowed some bookies to operate from his hotels, had sought time to appear before the CB-CID. The hotelier, summoned by the Mumbai crime branch, had appeared before it on 31 May in connection with a separate case on betting in IPL. Meanwhile, a Delhi court today sent alleged bookie Ramesh Vyas, arrested by the Mumbai police in connection with the IPL spot-fixing case, to 10 days’ police custody. sns & pti
Chhattisgarh Congress gag order
RAIPUR, 8 JUNE: The Congress has issued a “gag-order”, barring its leaders from making “unnecessary comments” following verbal spats among party leaders in the wake of the 25 May Maoist ambush in Chhattisgarh. sns (details on page 8)
AP Speaker disqualifies 15 rebel MLAs from Congress, TDP
HYDERABAD, 8 JUNE: Fifteen rebel MLAs belonging to Andhra Pradesh’s ruling Congress and main opposition Telugu Desam Party were today disqualified for voting in favour of a no-confidence motion moved by TRS against the Kiran Kumar Reddy government on 15 March this year.
These MLAs had defied their party whips. Nine belonged to Congress and six to TDP and they had joined YSR Congress of Y S Jaganmohan Reddy.
The Congress MLAs disqualified are Sujaya Krishna Ranga Rao, Dwarampudi Chandrasekhar Reddy, Alla Srinivas (Nani), M Rajesh, Perni Venkata Ramaiah (Nani), Jogi Ramesh, B Siva Prasad Reddy, Gottipati Ravi Kumar and Peddireddi Ramachandra Reddy. The rebel TDP legislators are T Sairaj, Taneti Vanitha, Kodali Srivenkateswara Rao (Nani), Praveen Kumar Reddy, Amarnath Reddy and Y Balanagi Reddy. The Speaker did not take any decision on the disqualification of three other TDP rebels — Chinnam Ramakotaiah, K Harishwar Reddy and S Venugopalachari — as hearing against them was said to be continuing. pti