CHENNAI, 17 JUNE: In a dramatic turn of events, Tamil Nadu’s ruling AIADMK today decided to withdraw its fifth candidate for Rajya Sabha elections in favour of CPI as DMK and DMDK entered the fray to fight for the sixth seat.
Lady luck virtually smiled on CPI candidate D Raja who succeeded in enlisting the support of ruling AIADMK as Jayalalithaa agreed to withdraw the candidature of K Thangamuthu who was nominated for the fifth seat.
The decision came following a request from CPI general secretary S Sudhakar Reddy, former general secretary A B Bardhan, and state secretary D Pandian, to support Mr Raja. Earlier, Miss Jayalalithaa had expressed her party’s inability to help the CPI and nominated five of her party candidates for the election. With these political developments, the ruling AIADMK could win four seats and the CPI could get the fifth. The fight is now between DMK’s sitting MP, Ms Kanimozhi, and DMDK’s Mr Elangovan, say observers.
Affirming AIADMK’s support, O Panneerselvam and Natham Viswanathan flanked Raja when he filed his nomination.
Meanwhile, Vijayakanth’s DMDK has also entered the fray as party treasurer Mr A R Elangovan filed his nomination for the 27 June biennial election to six Rajya Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu. sns