Follow Us:

Om Prakash Rawat appointed as new CEC, Ashok Lawasa to be election commissioner

SNS | New Delhi |

Former Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat has been appointed as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of Election Commission of India (ECI), according to media reports.

Former finance secretary Ashok Lawasa will be appointed as the new Election Commissioner.

Om Prakash Rawat is set to take charge of the top-post of the poll panel after his predecessor Achal Kumar Joti’s superannuation.

Rawat is a 1977-batch IAS officer from the Madhya Pradesh cadre, Rawat will take charge from Tuesday. He was appointed to the Election Commission in August 2015. The 64-year-old has held several important portfolios at Centre and state level during his long career.

Prior to his appointment as Election Commissioner of India, Om Prakash Rawat had retired as Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, Department of Public Enterprises.

Born on 2nd December, 1953, he did his MSc. in Physics from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi and thereafter MSc. in Social Development Planning in 1989-90 in the United Kingdom.

(further inputs awaited)