Sunil Singh, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) MLA from Nowpara, joined the BJP on Monday along with 12 TMC Councillors in New Delhi in the presence of BJP leaders Kailash Vijayvargiya and Mukul Roy.

“Public in West Bengal wants ‘Sab ka Saath, Sabka Vikas’. In Delhi, there is Modi ji’s govt and we want the same government to be formed in the state so that we can develop West Bengal,” said Sunil Singh.

This is the latest round of desertions from the TMC since the party’s below-par performance in the recently concluded general elections. On May 28, four MLAs of West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s ruling party had joined the BJP.

Subhrangshu Roy, the TMC MLA from Bijpur in North 24-Parganas district and the son of senior BJP leader Mukul Roy, who had resigned from the TMC in September 2017, was leading the TMC delegation.

Arjun Singh, BJP’s newly-elected MP from Barrackpore, who left the TMC after being denied ticket from the Barrackpore constituency, has seemingly played a key role in engineering the defections.

BJP National General Secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya had on May 28 announced that such joinings will continue in future also.

On May 29, TMC MLA Manirul Islam, Gadadhar Hazra, Mohd Asif Iqbal and Nimai Das joined the BJP in New Delhi.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in an election rally in Serampore, had claimed that 40 MLAs of Mamata Banerjee’s party were in touch with him and many of them would leave the Trinamool Congress after May 23, when Lok Sabha election results were announced.

“Didi, on 23 May when the results come, lotus will bloom everywhere and your MLAs will leave you. Even today 40 of your MLAs are in contact with me. It will be tough for you to save yourself,” Modi had said.

The BJP came up with a stunning performance capturing 18 of the state’s 42 Lok Sabha seats as against only two it won in 2014. The Trinamool, which had bagged a whopping 34 seats in 2014, saw its tally plunging to 22.