The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is most likely to finalise the first list of candidates for the Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly elections at a meeting to be held on Sunday at its Delhi headquarters. It will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party chief Amit Shah, working president JP Nadda and the state presidents and leaders of both the states.

Assembly elections will be held in Haryana and Maharashtra in a single phase on October 21. Counting of votes will take place on October 24 and the results will be out on the same day. The five-year term of the Legislative Assemblies of Haryana and Maharashtra expires on November 2 and November 9 respectively.

The BJP might also announce the seat sharing arrangement with Shiv Sena for the Maharashtra state elections.

According to sources, out of the 288 seats, BJP will contest on 144 seats while Sena will get 126 seats in its kitty. 18 seats will be given to other smaller allies. The post of the Deputy Chief Minister could be allocated to Shiv Sena while Chief Minister will be from BJP.

Earlier the Shiv Sena was not ready to accept the 128 seats offer of the BJP and wanted a minimum of 135 seats. Both the parties were fighting it out in open.

In the 2014 Maharashtra assembly polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the single largest party with 122 seats and the Shiv Sena, which also fought separately, secured 63. The BJP had turned out to be the single largest party, but fell far short of a majority. Shiv Sena and BJP got back together after the split verdict.

The BJP and Sena took a long time to settle the seast sharing formula. Shiv Sena was infact critical of BJP on various issues. It expresses its discontentment over BJP president Amit Shah’s plan to push the nationalistic narrative ahead of next month’s Maharashtra Assembly polls.

Last week, the Shiv Sena took a swipe at its senior ruling alliance partner, saying since the BJP had already decided everything, only the formality of pressing the EVM button was left in the name of elections. The Sena made its displeasure known in an editorial, overflowing with sarcasm, in the party mouthpiece Saamana.

The BJP wants the smaller parties in Maharashtra contest on its symbol. BJP is also against giving tickets to relatives of party leaders and those who have crossed 75 years of age will also be denied ticket.

Some of the sitting MLAs in Maharashtra and Haryana also might not get tickets this time.